Executive Committee 2020

TDWG is led by an Executive Committee composed of officers elected by TDWG members. The Executive Committee is responsible for strategic direction, the high-level management and coordination of standards efforts, and the oversight of day-to-day operations. This page shows the currently elected members of the Executive Committee, see the bottom of the page for previous compositions.

Image by Tim Graf

Executive Committee 2020

Term of office shown as span of calendar years, inclusive.

Managing officers

Role Name Affiliation Term of office
Chair James Macklin ✉️ Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, ON, Canada 2019-2020
Deputy Chair Deb Paul ✉️ iDigBio, Florida State University, Tallahassee FL USA 2019-2020
Secretary Quentin Groom ✉️ Botanic Garden Meise, Belgium 2019-2020
Treasurer William Ulate ✉️ Missouri Botanical Garden, MO, USA 2020-2021

Subcommittee chairs

Functional subcommittee Name Affiliation Term of office
Technical Architecture Group Simon Checksfield ✉️ CSIRO, Australia 2020-2021
Fundraising and Partnerships Connie Rinaldo ✉️ Ernst Mayr Library of the Museum of Comparative Zoology (MCZ), Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA 2019-2020
Infrastructure Tim Robertson ✉️ Global Biodiversity Information Facility, Denmark 2020-2021
Outreach and Communications Prabhakar Rajagopal ✉️ Strand Life Sciences and Ashoka Trust for Research in Ecology and the Environment (ATREE), India 2019-2020
Time and Place Patricia Mergen ✉️ Royal Museum for Central Africa and Botanic Garden Meise, Belgium 2020-2021

Regional representatives

Region Name Affiliation Term of office
Africa Brenda Daly ✉️ South African National Biodiversity Institute, Cape Town, South Africa (SANBI) 2019-2020
Asia Ji Liqiang ✉️ Institute of Zoology Chinese Academy of Sciences, China 2019-2020
Europe Wouter Addink ✉️ Naturalis Biodiversity Center, Netherlands 2019-2020
Latin America Paula Zermoglio ✉️ VertNet, Bariloche, Argentina 2020-2021
North America Holly Little ✉️ Dept Paleobiology, NMNH Smithsonian Institution, Washington DC, USA 2019-2020
Oceania Elycia (Ely) Wallis ✉️ CSIRO, Australia 2020-2021

Regularly invited participants (non-voting)

Role Name Affiliation
Conference Program Committee Co-Chair Gail Kampmeier ✉️ Urbana-Champaign, IL, USA
Administrator, TDWG Secretariat Stan Blum ✉️ San Francisco, CA, USA